Bowdoin College Catalogue and Academic Handbook

College Calendar

*Religious holidays and Bowdoin's policy on observance of these can be found at the bottom of this page. Federally recognized holidays are also found at the bottom of this page.

Date Event
220th Academic Year
Fall 2021
Aug. 13–14, Fri.–Sat. Celebration of 2020 Graduates
Aug. 22–23, Sun.–Mon. International Student Orientation
Aug. 24, Tues. First Year arrival day
Aug. 25–28, Wed.–Sat. Orientation Trips
Aug. 28–31, Sat.–Tues. Orientation
Aug. 29, Sun. College housing ready for occupancy for upperclass students, noon
Aug. 31, Tues. Opening of the College–Convocation, 3:30 p.m.
Sept. 1, Wed. Fall semester classes begin, 8:00 a.m.
Sept. 23–25, Thurs.–Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors, and BRAVO National Advisory Board meetings
Sept. 30–Oct. 2, Thurs.–Sat. Explore Bowdoin (virtual)
Oct. 1–3, Fri.–Sun. Homecoming Weekend
Oct. 8, Fri. Fall vacation begins after last class
Oct. 13, Wed. Fall vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
Oct. 14–16, Thurs.–Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
Oct. 14–16, Thurs.–Sat. Explore Bowdoin (in person)
Oct. 22, Fri. Sarah and James Bowdoin Day
Oct. 22–24, Fri.–Sun. Family Weekend
Nov. 2, Tues. Election Day
Nov. 24, Wed. Thanksgiving vacation begins, 8:00 a.m.
Nov. 29, Mon. Thanksgiving vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
Dec. 10, Fri. Last day of classes
Dec. 11–14, Sat.–Tues. Reading period
Dec. 15–20, Wed.–Mon. Fall semester examinations
Dec. 21, Tues. College housing closes for winter break, noon
Dec. 24–31, Fri.–Fri. College holidays, many offices closed
Spring 2022
Jan. 22, Sat. College housing available for occupancy, 8:30 a.m.
Jan. 24, Mon. Spring semester classes begin, 8:00 a.m.
Feb. 10–12, Thurs.–Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
March 11, Fri. Spring vacation begins after last class
March 12, Sat. College housing closes for spring vacation, noon
March 26, Sat. College housing available for occupancy, 8:30 a.m.
March 28, Mon. Spring vacation ends, 8:00 a.m.
March 31–April 2, Thurs.–Sat. Alumni Council, Alumni Fund Directors, and BRAVO National Advisory Board Meetings
April 21–23, Thurs.–Sat. Admitted Student Open House
May 6, Fri. Honors Day
May 11, Wed. Last day of classes
May 12–14, Thurs.–Sat. Meetings of the Board of Trustees
May 12–15, Thurs.–Sun. Reading Period
May 16–21, Mon.–Sat. Spring semester examinations
May 22, Sun. College housing closes for non-graduating students, noon
May 27, Fri. Baccalaureate
May 28, Sat. The 217th Commencement Exercises
May 28, Sat. College housing closes for graduating students, 6:00 p.m.
June 2–5, Thurs.–Sun. Reunion Weekend

In recognition of Bowdoin’s commitment to a diverse and inclusive student body and the variety of religions observed and practiced by our students, faculty are encouraged to avoid conflicts between in-class examinations and other significant academic work and major religious holidays. The calendar below was developed in collaboration with the director of religious and spiritual life, and includes major observances of the officially recognized religious groups at Bowdoin. In addition, the multi-faith calendar from the Harvard Divinity School is a valuable resource regarding many other religious observances that do not appear in the list below, but that may be of significance to members of our community.

Students are expected to declare their intention to observe religious holidays at the beginning of the semester. Students should work with instructors when there are conflicts with scheduled examinations, papers, or project due dates and significant religious holidays observed by the students so that, when warranted, alternative arrangements for completing the work may be made.

Students or faculty who have any questions regarding how best to balance the academic calendar alongside religious observances are encouraged to consult with Eduardo Pazos Palma, director of religious and spiritual life.

Date Event
Religious Holidays
Not within 2021–2022 academic year Eid-al-Adha
Sept. 6–8, Mon.–Wed. Rosh Hashanah, begins at sundown on Sept. 6 and concludes at sundown on Sept. 8
Sept. 15–16, Wed.–Thurs. Yom Kippur, begins at sundown on Sept. 15 and concludes at sundown on Sept. 16
Nov. 4, Thurs. Diwali
April 2–May 1, Sat.–Sun. Ramadan, begins at first light on April 2 and concludes at last light on May 1
April 15, Friday Good Friday
April 15–22, Fri.–Fri. Passover, begins at sundown on April 15 and concludes at sundown on April 22
April 17, Sunday Easter
May 2–3, Mon.–Tues. Eid-al-Fitr, begins at sundown on May 2
Federally Recognized Holidays
Sept. 6, Mon. Labor Day (classes in session, College holiday, some offices closed)
Oct. 11, Mon. Columbus Day* (classes not in session during Fall Break, but offices are open)
Nov. 11, Thurs. Veterans Day (classes in session, offices open)
Nov. 25, Thurs. Thanksgiving (Nov. 24–26 are College holidays, most offices closed)
Dec. 24, Fri. Christmas holiday observed (College holiday, most offices closed)
Jan. 3, Mon. New Year's Day holiday observed (College holiday, most offices closed)
Jan. 17, Mon. Martin Luther King Jr. Day (College holiday, some offices closed)
Feb. 21, Mon. President's Day (classes in session, College holiday, some offices closed)
May 30, Mon. Memorial Day (College holiday, many offices closed)
June 20, Mon. Juneteenth observed** (College holiday, most offices closed)
July 4, Mon. Fourth of July (College holiday, most offices closed)