Bowdoin College Catalogue and Academic Handbook

Compliance Statement

Bowdoin College complies with applicable provisions of federal and state laws that prohibit unlawful discrimination in employment, admission, or access to its educational or extracurricular programs, activities, or facilities based on race, color, ethnicity, ancestry and national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity and/or expression, age, marital status, place of birth, genetic predisposition, veteran status, or against qualified individuals with physical or mental disabilities on the basis of disability, or any other legally protected statuses.

The information in this publication was accurate at the time of publication. However, the College is a dynamic institution and must reserve the right to make changes in degree requirements, regulations, procedures, and charges.

In compliance with the Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act (The Clery Act), Bowdoin College maintains and provides information about campus safety policies and procedures and crime statistics. A copy of the report is available upon request or by accessing

In addition to being partners in athletic competition, the eleven colleges and universities comprising the New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) are united in efforts to provide safe environments in which students may mature intellectually and socially. Recognizing that social life plays a role in the college experience, each campus has increased its efforts to encourage students to make responsible choices. Each school takes a strong stand against substance abuse, including alcohol. While the vast majority of students at NESCAC institutions who choose to drink do so responsibly, each school has disciplinary and educational programs in place for students who misuse alcohol and other substances. Additionally, all of the conference schools expressly prohibit hazing. NESCAC member institutions: Amherst College, Bates College, Bowdoin College, Colby College, Connecticut College, Hamilton College, Middlebury College, Trinity College, Tufts University, Wesleyan University, Williams College.